Sunday, 9 March 2014


The 2014 African Magic Viewers Choice Award took place yesterday the 8th of March. The event was well attended by almost all that matter in the movie industry in Nigeria and other parts of Africa.

By and large, the Award event is adjuged a huge success holding to the quality of attendance, the organization of the event, and the interests among film makers. A few criticism from observers is worth noting: One, the few occasion of Microphone Failure and two, the coordination of the Red Carpet, especially the Presenters - Denrele Edun and Uti Nwachukwu. Some feel Derenle could have tone down on his antics and Uti could be more charismatic and less boring.

Well, generally, I think it was an inmeasurable success, and there is much room for improvement.

Here is a list of all the winners of the prestigious award:

# Best actor in a comedy award goes to Elvis Chucks# New era award goes to Rita Dominic for The Meeting# Trailblazer ward goes to: Michelle Bello# Best supporting actor in a Drama goes to Desmond Elliot for Finding Mercy# Best supporting actress in a Drama goes to Bikiya Graham-Douglas for Flower Girl# Best Director goes to Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract# Best Actor in a Comedy goes to: Osita Iheme – The Hero# Best Online Video goes to: Amarachukwu Onoh – Mother Tongue# Best Short Film award goes to: Walter ‘Waltbanger’ Taylaur – The Wages# Best Documentary award goes to: Dr Gilbert Chigbo – The Deadwood# Best Indigenous Language (Hausa): Abba Muko Yakassai# Best indigenous language Yoruba award goes to: Mercy Aigbe# Best indigenous language Swahili award goes to: Njoki Muhoho – Mama Duka# Best Television Series (Comedy/Drama) award goes to: Fred Phiri – Love Games Episode 6
# Best Costume Designer award goes to: Chiemela Nwagboso – The Kingdom# Best Art Director award goes to: Barbara Minishi – Nairobi Half Life
# Best video editor goes to: Shirley Frimpong-Manso – Contract# Best sound editor goes to: Obi Emelonye and Luke Corradine – Last Flight to Abuja# Best Cinematographer goes to: Christian Almesberger – Nairobi Half Life# Best Writer in a Comedy award goes to: Jigi Bello – Flower Girl# Best Lighting Designer goes to: Mohamed Zain – Nairobi Half Life# Best Writer in a Drama goes to: Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract# Best Make-Up Artiste Award goes to: Elayne Okaya – Nairobi Half Life
# Best Movie of 2013 goes to The Contract
# Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Tope Tedela for A Mile From Home
# Best Actress in a Drama Award goes to Nse Ikpe-Etim for Journey To Self
# Industry Merit Award goes to Peter Edochie
# Best Movie Drama goes to Frank Rajah Arase for The Price.